High Tea For Boys

I’m a sucker for High Tea. I love tea dresses, have a penchant for all things English Heritage and have a sweet tooth to rival Willy Wonkers. My favourite High Tea experiences have included The Ritz, Claridges, Miller Harris Sensory High Tea and The Lanesborough.

I tend to get dresses up all twee, sit with a straight back and daintily nibble my way through acres of lofty sponge, crumbly scone and rich petit-four, gabbling away excessively with girlfriends aided by our sugar/caffeine overload. Then I go back home and complain to my boyfriend that I’ve eaten too much. What a charmer. All the while he’s rubbing the pot belly wishing I’d stowed a few cakes away in my handbag for him. Never the less, he’s rarely keen to don the smoking jacket and join me in the High Tea parlour.

High Tea tends to be for the ladies – think floral tea-cups, menus finished with flourishes and foil and prettily decorated dining rooms smelling of violet and rose. I say until now as The Sanctum Hotel Soho has designed a High Tea for Gentlemen starting on October 1.

Menfolk can expect three courses of hot and cold nibbles including rabbit and pancetta pie and oysters glazed with bloody mary relish with double baked hot chocolate fudge cake and whiskey ice-cream to finish. Instead of tea boys get a silver tankard of Jack Daniels and a cigar to enjoy in the roof garden apres. It doesn’t come in cheap mind, at £50 a pop or £80 if you’d like to upgrade to a Jack Daniels tasting series, but I imagine will prove a temptation for people seeking out fun business meeting ideas or girlfriends wanting to do something for their men.

Gentlemen’s Afternoon Tea at The Sanctum Soho from October 1

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

