When One Pixie Met Another

Hot on the heels of designing for Moschino, Brit popstrel Pixie Lott has unveiled her collection for Lipsy. Featuring a ‘Pixie Festival’ range and a ‘Pixie Party’ range. There is lace, animal print, iddy biddy shorts and some long vests for layering. I caught up with her at Kensington Roof Gardens to peruse her wares and ask her a few sports and style questions…

How would you describe your style?

I wear a lot of black and like to mix up designer and high street finds. I love wearing heels out in the evening, but being so hectic I tend to stick to flats in the day. I always have quite ‘big hair’ and like to accessorize with big flowers and head bands.

Who is your style icon?

Brigitte Bardot and Eddie Sedgwick are my ultimate style icons. But I’m reading a book about Audrey Hepburn at the moment and she was so classic and elegant I definitely look to her too.

What sort of girls do you think will be wearing your collection for Lipsy?

I hope my designs will be bought by girls of all ages – as they are cute and flattering on the figure. They’re definitely for girls with curves and for girls who like to have fun with fashion. I hope people will enjoy adding their own personal touch with handbags, shoes, interesting make-up or fun hair styles. The great thing is, you can style any of the garments up for day or night – except maybe the little black hot pants!

With the festival season coming up, what’s your secret to staying looking glam?

Festivals should be about having fun and embracing the mess. For me it’s all about mussing up my hair, getting involved with facepaint and dramatic make-up and wearing clothes that are clashing and playful.

What’s your favourite piece from the Lipsy collection?

This lace dress I’m wearing now (pictured). It’s quite vintage looking and I think it’ll style up amazingly with leather sandals or chunky welly boots if it rains!

You can see from your music videos that you’re an accomplished dancer, what do you do to keep fit?

From the age of 11 I was singing and dancing every day at school, and I think it’s really important to keep fit. Exercise makes you feel better, is good for your body long term and gives you more energy. But unfortunately I hardly have time these days to do as much as I want. Luckily with all the running around I do I manage to stay pretty active without needing to hit the gym.

For your ‘Gravity’ video you perform some contemporary dance, did you have to go back and take any classes to get you back up to speed?

I literally learnt the piece of choreography the day before and just went on set and danced it! I wish I had time in my schedule to dance every day, I really love it.

At the Pixie Lott for Lipsy interview, we ate cupcakes, sugar covered sweets, ice cream with chocolate buttons and hundreds and thousands and admired the lone flamingo wandering the grass in the Lipsy/Pixie Lott festival mock up. Pixie was a tumble of thick blonde hair, huge Bambi eyes, flawless skin and bare feet. Very Disney Princess.

The Pixie Lott for Lipsy collection is out now and available to buy online at http://www.lipsy.co.uk and also in Topshop

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

